About us

Meet the Stewardship Council members, staff, and volunteers.

The Council

The core, voting membership of the Huron Stewardship Council is comprised of Huron County community members with diverse community interests and assorted key backgrounds including: agriculture, forestry, naturalist, angling/hunting, other recreational groups, and industry. When needed, new members are selected through a public recruitment and application process. Other community members are drawn in to participate on committees, or as part of various initiatives. When needed, representation is requested from key resource agencies, such as Conservation Authorities and provincial ministries, in a technical, advisory role.

Jennette Walker


Jennette works in environmental consulting and has involvement in many resource-related organizations and initiatives, generally focused on water protection.

Klaus Seeger

Vice Chair

Klaus recently retired from 39 years in environmental public health, former Chair of the Environmental Health Foundation of Canada, involvement in many resource-related organizations and initiatives.

Marg Kroes


Marg is a swine and cash crop farmer with membership and active involvement in a number of community, resource related and agricultural organizations and initiatives.

Jamie Heffer

County Representative

Jamie is the mayor of the municipality of Morris-Turnberry, and represents Huron County on the Stewardship Council.

Amy Lejcar


Amy Lejcar is a Landscape Architect and Arborist who has been on the council since 2018. She is interested in preserving and enhancing the natural features in Huron County that make it unique.

Darlene McCowan


A lover of nature and nature photography, Darlene sees the need to manage and maintain our natural resources.

Dave Frayne


Dave is an agricultural producer, former South Huron Deputy Mayor, and former Municipal Councillor. He is involved in a number of community and resource-related organizations and initiatives such as drinking water source protection, new crop production methods, and conservation.

Donna Taylor


Donna is a former chair of the stewardship council, a retired private business owner, rural landowner, and active community leader with a keen interest in natural heritage topics.

Tom Trick


Tom is a beef and cash crop farmer and woodlot owner with active involvement in community, resource-related and agricultural organizations. Active in the operations of the Trick’s Creek Farm (1873), which has an original flour mill and dam, sawmill, and managed woodlot.


Marcus Maddalena

Biologist / Stewardship Coordinator

Marcus started as Biologist/Stewardship Coordinator in 2019. He has a Masters of Environmental Studies from the University of Waterloo, and a diverse background researching a variety of species at risk flora and fauna in collaboration with numerous government agencies and NGO’s.

Cristen Watt

Species at Risk Technician

Cristen joined the HSC as a Species at Risk Technician in 2018, and since then has led reptile recovery projects. She has a Masters in wildlife ecology from Trent University, and is interested in reptile and amphibian conservation and wildlife research.

Allie Gallon

MSc. Candidate

Allie started a Master of Science degree at Laurentian University in January 2019. She leads the Eastern Hog-nosed snake research project.

Sheldon Paul

Species at Risk Technician

Sheldon has spent time working with the HSC since 2017 and helps run reptile recovery programs. He has a BSc in ecology from the University of Guelph and has a passion for the conservation of wildlife.

Nicole Cameron

CCC Participant

Nicole is a member of the Canadian Conservation Corps (CCC), and from Calgary AB. She has a Bsc in Zoology from the University of Calgary and a passion for coastal and aquatic wildlife and conservation.

Chantal Lamontagne

CCC Participant

Chantal is a member of the Canadian Conservation Corps from Toronto, ON. She has a Bachelor in Environmental Practice from Royal Roads University and an advance diploma form Seneca College in Environmental Technology program. She has a passion for conservation.


Wesley Small

Species at Risk Volunteer

Kyle Dyer

Species at Risk Volunteer

Former Council Members

Former Stewardship Council Members: Jim Ginn, John Haak, Myles Murdock, Brianne Webber, Bob Smyth, David Perrie, Robert Budd, Wayne Caldwell, Jeff Cardiff, Susan Chan, Susan Hay, Kathy Hodgins, Chris Lee, Carol Leeming, Don Lobb, Andrew Mann, Matt Pearson, Tom Pollard, Evert Ridder, Victor Roland, John Schwindt, Wayne Stewart, George Thompson, Rowena Wallace, Bill Creighton, Ian Koetsier.

Partners & Support

We are very grateful for all of the support from our various partners. We would like to thank all of the landowners, all levels of government, other conservation organizations, community members, and other partners who have contributed to our projects and support our efforts to promote responsible ecosystem-based management of our natural resources.

Government Agencies & Programs

  • Government of Canada
  • Government of Ontario
  • County of Huron
  • Environment and Climate Change Canada
  • Habitat Stewardship Program
  • Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources
  • Species at Risk Stewardship Fund

Educational Institutions

  • Laurentian University
  • University of Guelph
  • University of Toronto

Environmental Organizations

  • Ausable Bayfield Conservation Authority
  • Maitland Valley Conservation Authority
  • Upper Thames River Conservation Authority
  • Canadian Wildlife Federation
  • ECO Canada
  • Huron Fringe Field Naturalists
  • Huron-Perth Chapter of the Ontario Woodlot Association
  • Hullett Marsh
  • Lake Huron Centre for Coastal Conservation
  • Lower Maitland Stewardship Group
  • Nature Conservancy of Canada
  • Ontario Nature
  • Ontario Turtle Conservation Centre
  • Pinery Provincial Park
  • Scales Nature Park
  • Toronto Zoo (Adopt-a-Pond Program)


  • Bruce Power